01

National operating picture

The observatory separates agency-published facts from calculations, planning scenarios, and unresolved data gaps. Every major figure links to an official source and a stated limitation.

17,587,687

Living veterans

VetPop2023 estimate used in the FY2025 compensation report.

Official Source

6,338,253

Compensation recipients

Veterans receiving disability compensation as of September 30, 2025.

Official Source

600,639

Pending rating-bundle claims

Weekly VBA claims inventory displayed August 10, 2026.

Official Source

69,840

Claims older than 125 days

The rating-related backlog subset displayed August 10, 2026.

Official Source

31,406

FY2027 VBA FTE

Requested full-time equivalents from all funding sources.

Official Source

367

Individual VA AI use cases

Inventory entries across every lifecycle stage; not 367 deployed systems.

Official Source

Four evidence classifications

Official

Published directly by VA, GAO, Congress, or another identified authoritative institution.

Calculated

Mathematically derived from official values with the formula disclosed.

Scenario

An editable planning assumption used to test policy choices.

Unknown

A material fact the available public record does not establish.

02

Core findings

1. Disability-compensation demand is institutionally large and medically complex

The FY2025 compensation report identifies 6.34 million compensation recipients, equal to 36.04 percent of the report’s 17.59 million living-veteran estimate. VA recognized 46.50 million service-connected disabilities—an average of 7.34 per recipient. Official

VA reported 1.85 million recipients at a 100-percent combined disability rating. That is 29.15 percent of compensation recipients and, by calculation, 10.50 percent of the living-veteran estimate. Calculated

2. The FY2027 claims plan has little operating reserve

VA projects 7,205,120 incoming rating and non-rating matters and 7,365,039 completions. Planned production exceeds projected receipts by 159,919 matters—only 2.22 percent of receipts—while year-end inventory remains 923,890 matters. Official Calculated

The implied planned utilization is 97.83 percent. A five-percent receipt surge would exceed planned production by 200,337 matters; a ten-percent surge would create a 560,593-matter shortfall. Calculated

FY2027 projected disability-compensation workload
WorkloadReceiptsProductionYear-end inventory
Rating2,921,9572,970,929453,047
Non-rating4,283,1634,394,110470,843
Total7,205,1207,365,039923,890

3. The FY2027 Board plan increases pending appeals

The budget projects 113,433 appeals received, 102,000 decisions, and 194,191 appeals pending at year-end. The Board requests 1,163 FTE—137 fewer than the FY2026 enacted estimate and 235 fewer than FY2025 actual staffing. Official

Using FY2025 observed average output only as a sensitivity assumption, the Board would need at least 1,280 FTE to keep pace with FY2027 receipts, 1,562 FTE to reduce inventory by 25,000, or 1,844 FTE to reduce it by 50,000. Scenario

4. Accredited representation exists at scale, but capacity is not measured adequately

GAO identified 13,670 accredited individuals as of November 2024: 8,141 VSO representatives, 5,008 attorneys, and 521 claims agents. GAO also reported that three-fourths of approximately one million open disability claims in August 2024 used an accredited representative. Official

Those counts do not reveal who actively practices veterans law, accepts new clients, serves rural areas, provides Spanish-language service, or can accommodate disabled claimants. GAO found an accreditation backlog of almost 2,200 claims-agent applications and an ADF workforce of 12 paralegals and six attorneys. Official Unknown

5. The “367 AI systems running” claim is inaccurate

VA’s 2025 inventory contains 367 individual AI use cases: 138 pre-deployment, 21 pilot, 134 deployed, and 74 retired. It classifies 215 as high-impact, including 90 that were deployed. An inventory use case is not necessarily a unique system. Official Calculated

Within the VBA subset, this project identified 27 use cases: 12 pre-deployment, two pilot, eight deployed, and five retired. Eleven are classified high-impact; four of those are deployed. Calculated

03

Reproducible capacity model

Change every scenario input. Official receipts and planned production are preloaded; utilization, productivity, and cost are not official staffing standards.

Government case-processing capacity scenario
Planned utilization—
Required annual capacity—
Additional annual capacity—
Additional case-processing-equivalent FTE—
Estimated annual staffing cost—
Share of FY2027 VA budget—
Formula

Required capacity = annual receipts ÷ target utilization + dedicated inventory reduction. Additional FTE = additional capacity ÷ marginal matters per FTE, rounded up.

Claimant-side parity scenario

This model estimates a multidisciplinary workforce for a selected share of complex rating matters. It does not create a legal entitlement to counsel and does not assume every professional is an attorney.

Claimant-side intensive-assistance scenario
Intensive matters—
Full-time claimant-side professionals—
Estimated annual cost—
Share of FY2027 VA budget—

Possible roles include accredited VSO staff, attorneys, claims agents, paralegals, medical-evidence coordinators, interpreters, and accessibility specialists operating under lawful supervision and conflict controls. Scenario

04

Appeals sensitivity model

The calculation uses FY2025 Board decisions divided by FY2025 Board FTE—88.67 decisions per FTE—as an observed average. It does not account for future case mix or occupational composition. Scenario

Illustrative Board staffing using FY2025 observed average output
Policy objectiveAnnual decisions requiredMinimum whole FTEDifference from FY2027 request
Keep pace with FY2027 receipts113,4331,280+117
Reduce pending inventory by 25,000138,4331,562+399
Reduce pending inventory by 50,000163,4331,844+681

05

Accredited-representation capacity

Accredited individuals and ADF program capacity reported by GAO
MeasureCountReporting dateWhat remains unknown
VSO representatives8,141November 2024Active caseload, availability, language, geography, accessibility
Attorneys5,008November 2024Veterans-law practice share and new-client availability
Claims agents521November 2024Active caseload and geographic coverage
Claims-agent applications pendingAlmost 2,200November 2024Current inventory and age distribution
ADF adjudicatory staff12 paralegals; 6 attorneysNovember 2024Current staffing and post-OPM workforce analysis

06

VBA artificial-intelligence registry

The table below is a reproducible subset of VA’s official 2025 inventory. It includes every row assigned to the Veterans Benefits Administration. Missing fields remain missing; the project does not infer them.

Showing 27 of 27 VBA use cases.

VBA rows in the 2025 VA AI Use Case Inventory
Use case IDUse case nameLifecycle stageImpact classificationTopic area
VA-24-2143 Call Center Knowledge Navigator Pilot Not high-impact Government Benefits Processing
VA-24-2184 National Training Team | Schools — FAQ Gen AI Dashboard Retired High-impact Not reported
VA-24-2266 National Training Team | Schools NLP FAQ Dashboard Retired Not high-impact Not reported
VA-24-2545 Privacy Act Automation Deployed Not high-impact Administrative Functions
VA-24-3291 Payment Redirect Fraud (PRF) Model Deployed High-impact Procurement & Financial Management
VA-24-3578 Synthetic Data Creation Retired Not high-impact Not reported
VA-24-3619 Billie GPT Retired Not high-impact Not reported
VA-24-3824 electronic Virtual Assistant (e-VA) Retired High-impact Not reported
VA-24-4722 Automated Decision Support Deployed High-impact Government Benefits Processing
VA-24-4763 Mail Automation Services Deployed High-impact Government Benefits Processing
VA-24-4804 Master Claims Assistance Tool (M-CAT) Pilot Not high-impact Government Benefits Processing
VA-24-790 Pension Optimization Initiative (POI) Deployed High-impact Government Benefits Processing
VA-25-1348 Smart Claim Check Pre-deployment Not high-impact Government Benefits Processing
VA-25-1471 Articulate 360: AI Assistant Deployed Not high-impact Human Resources
VA-25-1512 Loan Guaranty Lender’s Handbook Chatbot Pre-deployment Not high-impact Service Delivery
VA-25-1594 Automated Ratings Summarization Pre-deployment High-impact Government Benefits Processing
VA-25-2036 Education Call Center (ECC) Next Gen POC Pre-deployment Not high-impact Service Delivery
VA-25-2089 AI Personal Assistance POC Pre-deployment Not high-impact Administrative Functions
VA-25-2373 Generative Annotations Pre-deployment Not high-impact Government Benefits Processing
VA-25-3480 Smart Pension Automation Pre-deployment High-impact Government Benefits Processing
VA-25-3670 ASKA: Automated Support and Knowledge Assistance Pre-deployment Not high-impact Other
VA-25-393 Predictive Claims Processing Capability POC Pre-deployment High-impact Government Benefits Processing
VA-25-5163 Customer Sentiment Deployed Not high-impact Human Resources
VA-25-5578 AICES Pre-deployment High-impact Government Benefits Processing
VA-25-5852 VBA Mail Management Services (MMS) - Modification Pre-deployment Not high-impact Government Benefits Processing
VA-25-6965 Smart Ratings Recommendation Pre-deployment High-impact Government Benefits Processing
VA-25-733 Auto Doc ID Deployed Not high-impact Administrative Functions

Download detailed VBA AI subset as JSON

Separate budget documents state that Automated Decision Support is planned for more than 90 percent of VBA claim volume by the end of calendar year 2027, while VBA employees retain final-decision authority. Inventory status and operational coverage are distinct measures.

07

Petition-ready policy framework

This preview does not publish a final legal petition or claim that the preliminary staffing scenarios are adjudicated facts. It converts the evidence into six reviewable policy requests.

Capacity reserve and transparency

Require VA to publish a workload-to-staffing model, forecast error bands, occupational assumptions, and a funded surge reserve rather than planning at near-saturation.

Board stabilization

Prevent annual appeals receipts from exceeding decision capacity and fund a time-limited inventory-reduction plan with docket-specific timeliness targets.

Accreditation workforce plan

Publish the completed workforce analysis, application aging, active-representative capacity, language coverage, accessibility capacity, and geographic service gaps.

Claimant-side parity

Fund independent, accredited, multidisciplinary assistance for complex, rural, homeless, visually impaired, cognitively impaired, and Spanish-primary claimants.

High-impact AI due process

Require human sign-off, immutable audit records, model and vendor disclosure sufficient for oversight, demographic testing, accessibility testing, override reporting, notice, and an effective challenge process.

Issue-level outcome data

Publish grants, partial grants, denials, reasons, review outcomes, remands, reversals, time to finality, and deaths before final resolution without exposing personal information.

08

Methodology and correction controls

Unit discipline

A rating-bundle claim is not the same as an individual medical issue, examination, appeal, or veteran. The site labels the unit used by each source.

Projection discipline

FY2027 budget values are displayed as requests or projections, never as completed outcomes.

No false precision

Workforce and cost outputs are scenario results. Users can change every nonofficial assumption.

Reproducibility

Public JSON and CSV files contain the inputs, formulas, source locations, retrieval dates, limitations, and document checksums.

Correction procedure

A correction must identify the disputed statement, authoritative source, exact location, and requested change. Material corrections appear in the changelog.

Privacy

No individual claim file, medical record, VA file number, Social Security number, address, credential, or proprietary Ayala logic belongs in this repository.

Open data downloads

09

Public source and evidence ledger

Static documents are recorded with SHA-256 checksums. Dynamic webpages are marked as dynamic and must be rechecked before quotation.

Public source and evidence ledger
SourceReporting periodUsed forLocation and integrityLimitation
Detailed Claims Data
VA-CLAIMS-WEEKLY
Weekly status displayed August 10, 2026 Current pending rating-bundle claims; Claims older than 125 days; Issue-level and claim-level accuracy Claims Inventory, Claims Backlog, and Accuracy status reports. Dynamic webpage Dynamic page. Values change weekly. Claim-based accuracy is the share of sampled cases that were error-free; it is not a wrongful-denial rate.
FY 2025 Annual Benefits Report: Compensation
VA-ABR-2025-COMP
Fiscal year 2025; recipients as of September 30, 2025 Veteran population; Compensation recipients; Service-connected disabilities; 100-percent combined ratings PDF pages 4, 5, 8, and 10. SHA-256: b78b0ef4f76c82b5dec067ac7f54f48821f7b72626e15170561ca9877f13fd29 Counts recognized service-connected disabilities, not every condition claimed or experienced. Veteran population is based on VetPop2023.
FY 2027 Congressional Submission: Budget in Brief
VA-BUDGET-2027-BIB
FY 2025 actual, FY 2026 enacted/estimated, FY 2027 request VA and VBA staffing; Board staffing and appeals projections; Budget totals PDF pages 1, 8, and 35–38. SHA-256: 83dba990470148f01f9090730ddac932a8809b12775f0fcf0a00c34b378ea09e FY 2027 values are requested or projected, not enacted outcomes.
FY 2027 Congressional Submission, Volume III: Benefits and Burial Programs and Departmental Administration
VA-BUDGET-2027-V3
FY 2024–2027 workload and budget data Rating and non-rating receipts, production, and inventory; Automated Decision Support expansion; Direct-labor FTE context PDF pages 77–79 and 59–71. SHA-256: 0792f98b5038a3f1cb54aa8e857076ca098bfcf707250860ea3bcb89d23a0ead Projected claims include PACT Act workload, while the direct-labor FTE table cited in the document excludes Toxic Exposures Fund FTE. This observatory therefore does not treat that table as a complete productivity denominator.
2025 VA AI Use Case Inventory
VA-AI-2025
Inventory current as of December 2025 AI lifecycle counts; High-impact counts; VBA-specific AI registry All Use Cases worksheet, rows 3–369. SHA-256: f6bfdb02859539de48aeba1003afda18bd0fa92223df33763bc872e292b8ad88 An inventory entry is a use case, not necessarily a unique software system. Lifecycle status must be considered; retired and pre-deployment entries are not running production systems.
Veterans Benefits: More Thorough Planning Needed to Help Better Protect Veterans Assisted by Representatives
GAO-25-107211
Data primarily through November 2024 Accredited representative counts; Claims-agent application backlog; ADF staffing Report pages addressing representative counts and ADF workforce resources. SHA-256: ef8d2a30cf96b996a2bb1c9a726696c56243ee3ff5f219fd7d6d1c159c6f8db2 Accreditation does not establish active practice, new-client availability, caseload, language capacity, geography, or accessibility capability.
Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.2
WCAG-22
Current Recommendation Accessibility target and testing protocol W3C Recommendation. Dynamic webpage This project targets WCAG 2.2 AA. Automated tests alone cannot establish full conformance.

10

Accessibility statement

Accessible HTML is the authoritative publication format. The project targets WCAG 2.2 Level AA but does not claim certified conformance. It uses semantic headings, landmarks, keyboard-operable controls, visible focus, high contrast, large targets, reduced-motion support, descriptive table captions, and text equivalents instead of chart-only communication.

Automated testing cannot replace disabled-user review. Manual acceptance review remains required with TalkBack and Chrome on Android, NVDA with Firefox and Chrome on Windows, VoiceOver with Safari, keyboard-only navigation, and browser zoom at 200 and 400 percent.

Report an accessibility defect through GitHub Issues without including personal claim information.